When God Calls You A Dead Man, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Genesis 20:1-6, “3 But God came to Abimelech in a dream by night, and said to him, “Indeed you are a dead man because of the woman whom you have taken, for she is a man’s wife.”

image

I was talking to a young man looking with lust at this beautiful woman. He was describing what he would do to her given the opportunity. So I asked him, “are you not married?” Apparently his wife is fine with him looking at other women as long as he did not physically cheat on her with them.
A number of men have said, “there is nothing wrong with looking at the menu as long as you are not ordering anything” when looking at another woman. So i asked him, “suppose you had a daughter and someone was describing what he could do to her sexually, would you be fine with that?” to which he replied, “No, in fact I would kill him” he said, to which I responded, “you’ve done the same with somebody’s daughter and it does not bother you”. He was creating what was acceptable to him, his own moral standard.

I share this because God called king Abimelech a dead man for thinking of taking another man’s wife, Abram in particular. In the midst of Abram’s foolishness, God stepped in to protect His name and His daughter from harms way, the daughter He entrusted to Abram as his wife. God considers a man who eyes a woman he is not married to a dead man because she is His daughter and she is someone’s wife. What if she is not married? well she will be unless the Lord chooses otherwise. You prepare your young people for marriage not necessarily because they have someone at that age. Your daughter is someone’s wife yet to be and the one you lust after who is not your wife is someone’s wife.

The unsaved dive into sin and drink iniquity like water, believers may stumble and even fall in sin but God who is rich in mercy rescues the tempted and/or the fallen.

Abimelech knew what had happened to Sodom and Gomorrah, perhaps they purged their ways so as not end up like them. It is at this point of being a called a dead man in his dream he reasoned with the Lord. The bible says, “But Abimelech had not come near her; and he said, “Lord, will You slay a righteous nation also? “Did he not say to me, ‘She is my sister’? And she, even she herself said, ‘He is my brother.’ In the integrity of my heart and innocence of my hands I have done this”, Genesis 20:4-5. He acted as one falling by ignorance, and not doing evil on purpose. He argued that out of the integrity of his heart he inquired first for he did not desire to sin against God.

God for the sake of His great name, for the preservation of the sanctity of marriage and for the protection of those whose hearts desire to be pure but have weakness, steps in to protect His people. “And God said to him in a dream, “Yes, I know that you did this in the integrity of your heart. For I also withheld you from sinning against Me; therefore I did not let you touch her.”, Genesis 20:6. We all struggle with sin, we want to do what is right but some times fail, our prayer primarily should be deliverance by God for the sake of His great name. His name is on the line. I pray to be faithful to my wife primarily for the sake of His great name. God says, “…I will sanctify My great name, which has been profaned among the nations, which you have profaned in their midst; and the nations shall know that I am the LORD,” says the Lord GOD, “when I am hallowed in you before their eyes”, Ezekiel 36:23.

Were it not for the restraining hand of God through our conscious, His Word, prayers, accountability, etc, we would be no different from the young man I spoke of. God withheld king Abimelech from sinning against Him, the same as we read of Joseph and the same desire we ought to have and pray for.

My prayer and I hope is yours is make Psalm 23:3 our prayer that God would keep us pure by leading us in the paths of righteousness for His name sake, to be faithful to His daughters through sanctity of marriage, and be a testimony to the world that mocks marriages. Blessings Ev

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

