Are We There Yet? Part 1of2, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Isaiah 6:1-9, “In the year king Uzziah died, I saw the Lord…”

At the introduction of the book of Isaiah chapter 6 shows us the preparation of Isaiah’s life to respond to the call God had for him. “In the year King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord“, I am yet to study who king Uzziah was. Let me for now say by looking at the scripture that he looks like a king who blocked men like Isaiah from seeing God as He is. Can’t tell how he might have done it. I believe Isaiah was raised under his leadership and he must have looked up to him. Through that, Isaiah may have had self-righteousness in that compared to his people he talks about in the earlier chapters. He had not had a revelation from above to the true holiness of God, therefore as the bible puts it in Romans 10:3, “For they being ignorant of God’s righteousness, and seeking to establish their own righteousness, have not submitted to the righteousness of God“. Any time you can think to yourself that, “I’m a little bit better” will be a sign of establishing your own righteousness.

If you have someone or something blocking your view of the true thing, it’s easy to get satisfied by what is there. Why would I want to progress in my spiritual walk if I feel I have arrived? I am going to heaven, sounds good. I feel a little bit better compared to those who have not received Him. I give to the Lord, I make it to church, what more could the Lord require of me? I used to feel this way, I was comfortable being saved and going to heaven that I did not want to do anything else besides that. Just when you feel comfortable, God will disrupt your life causing you to see something extraordinary. Something that has been clouding your way has to die and be removed. Remember there are two kingdoms here, King Uzziah’s and King Jesus’. As king Uzziah faded from the picture, Isaiah began to encounter with the God of holiness. Isaiah 6:1, “…I saw the Lord sitting on a throne, high and lifted up, and the train of His robe filled the temple“. I believe that you can never see who you really are until you see who He really is. Seeing who He really is exposes you to who you really are in His light. As long as king Uzziah was alive, Isaiah had no understanding of who God was (is) because king Uzziah’s living clouded his eyes to see Who He was(is). Isaiah in this case first saw Him sitting on the throne, HE is the King. High and Lifted up, Worshipped; train of His robe filled the temple, covering everything exposed. vs. 2, “Above it stood seraphim; each with six wings: with two he covered his face, with two covered his feet, and with two he flew“. If Seraphim is a heavenly being, a type of an angel, he must be holier than us. Bowing before God, covering his face, everything that Isaiah may have known about holiness was shattered at that moment. And the angels cried one to another, “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord of hosts, The whole earth is full of His glory”. Of all the things that describe the nature of God, none has been repeated more than once as the word “holy”. You don’t hear, faithful, faithful, faithful but “Holy” always mentioned three times perhaps referring to each member of the Trinity.

Holiness is what God requires of us, 1Peter 1:16 “Be holy for I am holy …“. The holiness is not based on men’s standard but God’s. The holiness of God humbles me to the fact that I’m undone. Not only did Isaiah see the holiness of God, he also saw that he had not worshipped the God of holiness. I am always reminded by God that I am not there yet even though He has used me mightily. I am grateful to be reminded to keep pursuing more and more. So Isaiah’s standard of holiness had been disrupted, what will he do about it?.

His response, Isaiah 6:5, “So I said, “woe is me for I am undone!..”. As Isaiah, we are not complete yet, whether God has used us mightily or not, we are not there yet. Why drift back when you haven’t reached yet? why relax and be comfortable because you established your own righteousness by looking at someone’s life? Pray that God will let all the king Uzziah’s in your life die that you may see Him as He is and in turn open your eyes to see yourself in His true light, and confess like Isaiah did. Blessings Evans

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

