Your Origin Surpasses Your History, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Jeremiah 1:5, “Before I formed you in the word I knew you; Before you were born I sanctified you; I ordained you a prophet to the nations”

The more I walk with the Lord, the more I see my life being changed as I go to new dimensions. As a child growing up, I had some thoughts of what I wanted to be and always dreamed of it. The more I have lived, the more I have come to realize that what I thought was what I needed cannot be compared to what God has done. In other words, I got more than I bargained for.

I believe with all my heart that there are many things deposited in us that we know not of. Some are reserved for a certain time when we are ready. If we knew our end result, it would scare some of us to death. We always try to see our destiny based on our history. One of the people who was told of his destiny was Jeremiah, it scared him to death. The first thing we are told of where God was involved in his life. It was not when he was born or when he was conceived, God knew him when He thought of making him. “Before “I” formed you in the womb “I” knew you”. God was telling Jeremiah that he was a result of His making and God does not make anything that has no purpose. God orchestrated every life not when it was born but right before the thought of the parents to have one. Why is it so important? because you begin to understand your life is God planned. God planned it, stepped in, made it, fixed it. “…Before you were born I sanctified you“, He knew that Jeremiah would be born in sinful world but He was already sanctified in the womb. Sanctify means to set a part, to make holy or purify. Those who are saved are sanctified even if they don’t feel like it. It’s not a matter of feeling but knowing that you are. “…I ordained you a prophet to the nations“, this was to be Jeremiah’s calling, a prophet. The word ordain means to invest with ministerial or authority. Three things God told Jeremiah about himself, I FORMED, SANCTIFIED, ORDAINED. I can see how no one can form, sanctify or ordain but God.

In our thinking we would wonder how can this be? 1. Jeremiah was too young to understand all these; 2. He could not see how he could be what God had called him to be. Now I know why God would not show us everything. We would not understand them even if He explained, they would not make sense, they would look and sound foolish compared to what we know of ourselves so He just leads us to them. Romans 8:30, “Moreover whom He predestined, these He also called; whom He called, these He also justified; and whom He justified, these He also glorified“. Paul talks about how God works and says that those whom he predestined, in other words those that He elected by divine will, He also called them. Something to think about, when he predestined them, there is no where it shows they were perfect or complete. This is because the next line reveals to us that He also justified them. Justified means, declared free of blame from guilt and penalty attached to grievous sin. And those that He justified, He also glorified. The glory part puzzled me a bit for I know Only God receives the glory but how can He glorify us then. Here is an interpretation the Holy Spirit gave me. That which has been taken through the process of formed (predestined), sanctified (justified), ordained (called) He lives in them and glorifies Himself in them. You shine because He shines through you.

If you are a believer, there is a calling in your life. It may not be what you thought you will be or planned to be. I never saw myself preaching, teaching, encouraging, writing, praying etc. I grew up a very shy skinny boy, bullied by a number in school, I was nicknamed every name I could think of, an average student. I never thought or saw myself being used of God mightily but now I understand that I was Formed, sanctified and ordained. God had deposited so much in me I did not even know until the right time. It’s the same with you, you have no idea what God has deposited in you yet to be revealed. You may be looking at your history, God is looking at your origin. Since you have no recall of your origin, let God who was there tell you of what He made you to be. My history did not affect my origin though I concentrated on my history. My history showed more of my failures than success, my origin showed “Formed, sanctified and ordained” Blessings Evans

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

