He Knows Me, Part 1of2, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Psalm 139:1-24, “Search me, O God and know my heart; Try me, and know my thoughts (anxieties).

The Psalmist in this text had an encounter with God in a way that caused him to know that God has a perfect knowledge of man. He begins by saying in vs. 1, “O Lord, You have searched me and known me”, He knows more than just my name, He knows me inside out. The Psalmist is giving us examples to show how the Lord knows him. “You know my sitting and my rising up; You understand my thought a far off”, God knows when we are weak and when we are strong. He knows when we need more and He knows our thoughts from a far off, both wicked and pleasant thoughts. When you are thinking of what to say, He already knew what you were thinking and what you planned to say.

Vs. 3, “You comprehend my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways”, Lord You understand when I take this road, when no one else understands me and when many criticize me for taking this path, You are the only One who understands. My lying down also is not news to You for You know when I am tired and weary, You protect me when I am lying down. Vs. 4, “For there is not a word on my tongue, but behold, O Lord, You know it altogether”, I’m glad Lord that You know the words that are coming out of my mouth, You know what I’m trying to say, when I’m trying to say it and how I’m trying to say it. Before I even pray, You already know what I’m going to pray about for nothing in my life escapes You. vs. 5, “You have hedged me behind and before, And laid Your hand upon me”, I remember when You told the children of Israel that You will go before them by day as a cloud of wind and by night as a pillar of fire, I know You are doing the same in my life, for the wind cleans my path and the fire builds a hedge of protection around me and lights my path. When I feel like I’m alone, Your hand upon me gives me the assurance that I am not alone.

vs. 6, “Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; It is high, I cannot attain it“, Lord just being convinced up to this far that You know me blows my mind for it’s just to much to really understand that in as much as I do not know myself like I should, You know me better than anybody else in the entire world. vs. 7 “Where can I go from Your Spirit”, With all this knowledge about me Lord, where can I go where your presence is not there for You are everywhere. They call you Jehovah Shammah which means God present, You are our refuge and strength, a very present help. I am encouraged to know that I can never escape Your presence for when I find myself in heaven one day, Your presence will be there. You are there in good times in my life and in bad times. And if I put my bed in hell which in other words if my actions, denials and rebellion puts me in a state where I feel like I am in hell, You will still be there with me because You know how to deliver me. Vs 12, “Indeed even darkness shall hide from You, But the night shines as the day; The darkness and the light are both a like to You“, Lord I’m reminded that you are not intimidated by darkness in my life for you see through and beyond the darkness. The moment You come in, darkness has no choice but to leave. Whatever is a mess in my life, You take it and turn it around to make something good out of it. You are the only God who has a way of taking my mess and making it into something useful. Thank You for taking me a mess and making me into a vessel of Honor to store treasure in.

Vs 13, “For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb”, Lord the fact that You formed me blows my mind. You took time to make this being, crafted me in Your arms. A lot could have killed me or caused me to be aborted or miscarried but You covered me, You protected me and natured me until I was ushered into the world and even with that, still You did not say the work is done.

Vs 14, “I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made, marvelous are Your works“, This is now too big to comprehend Lord, that out of the 6 billion people on the earth, You fearfully and wonderfully made me that no one else is like me. To make it even interesting, You did not make me a junky but took time to form, fix, straighten me the original version and therefore there can be no one that can beat me being me. I’m a piece of art designed and developed at a time like this, marvelous are Your works and my soul knows it very well.

This is just too good to be true but it is, God knows each and every one of us in a way we could never understand. He can hear everyone at the same time and to prove what He can do, Matthew 10:30, “The very hairs on your head are numbered” not counted but numbered.

In the whole devotion there is one little important word repeated over and over again, it’s the common denominator “YOU” which is God Himself. Without Him, we can do nothing. Why not sit back and let “YOU” take over your life. To finish. Blessings Ev

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

