Pouring Your Heart To The Lord, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


1Samuel 1:8-18, “But Hannah answered and said, “No, my lord, I am a woman of sorrowful spirit. I have drunk neither wine nor intoxicating drink, but have poured my soul before the Lord”

People do struggle to pray. You may have struggled numerous times to pray and still got nowhere. And if you prayed, your prayers felt so dry, not effective, and did not even enjoy it. I remember years back when I had the same kind of struggle and God had to teach me to pray effectively changing my whole perspective on prayers and how to approach the throne of grace. Yes I still struggle to pray, the will to is there, the strength and the effectiveness sometimes fail.

If we are going to get heaven’s attention on a matter, we have to do what it takes. Prayers gets God’s attention, it causes heaven to be in motion. Hannah had something she desired of the Lord and she understood the only way to receive it was to come before the Lord. God rewards persevering faith in prayers, she had it. The bible says in Hebrews 10:35-36, “35 Therefore do not cast away your confidence, which has great reward, 36. For you have need of endurance, so that after you have done the will of God, you may receive the promise”. Our confidence in God drives us to pray to Him as there is a reward in seeking God. Seeking Him calls for endurance (patience) and we see this with Hannah too. After we have done the will of God which is to seek His Kingdom first and His righteousness, Mathew 6:33, then the promise of the things we have desired according to His will shall are added unto us.

One thing about this woman was that she learnt to pour her heart to the Lord. A lot of things were in her spirit, all she could do was cry out to God. Eli mistook her for being drunk with wine and even asked her to refrain from it and her response, “I have poured my soul before the Lord“. I would say that you have to be broken to pour what’s inside. Part of being broken will cause you to be real when you pray. When you are broken, you have no ability to hold anything inside. A woman came to wash Jesus feet wiping them with her hair, she brought with her the Alabaster box that contained precious oil, she was willing to break the box so that oil would flow out. She did not want to save anything so she poured it all out. If we are going to pray effectively, we are going to break everything and pour our hearts to the Lord like Hannah. A tax collector in Luke 18:13 poured his heart to the Lord by beating his breast and saying, “God, be merciful to me a sinner“, he poured it all. If you remember the Pharisee that was standing next to this publican, he came to pray but was proud and arrogant and God would not listen to him.

We can pray for sure but can we pray effectively? have we learnt to pour our hearts to the Lord to say everything that I am dealing with, troubling me, destroying me, I desire, I choose to pour it to you? Just as I am, I am coming to you, casting all my cares upon you. What are you trusting God for today? are you willing to endure praying and pouring your heart to the Lord like Hannah did? If we want God to move, this must be the year of prayer.

Be blessed Evans

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

