I Am Still Here, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Psalm 118:17, “I shall not die, but live, And declare the works of the LORD”

A question once asked, “Why are we here on earth?”, someone responded, “to live this life to the fullest“. I wouldn’t say that is the reason why we are here primarily, that is what we do while we are here. God designed the earth, populated it and finally created man to fit into what He had created. God being a God of order did not create man on the first day. The chief end of man is to glorify God and to enjoy Him forever, that is the purpose He created us for. No one is here by accident but by the divine will of God. The question then you ask yourself, “if I am here, why I’m I here and how long am I going to be here?”, Until what He had planned for me is fulfilled in my life.

Acts 14, Paul had been moving from city to city preaching the gospel. Many believed on the name of the Lord Jesus and were saved but there were some Jews who stirred up strife trying to confuse some of the Gentiles that believed. When this wasn’t working as fast as they wanted it to work, they had an idea to get rid of Paul. One time they tried to stone him and Barnabas. When they learnt of it, they escaped from Iconium to Lystra and Derbe nevertheless they later followed them there. Acts 14:19-20, “19 Then some Jews came from Antioch and Iconium and won the crowd over. They stoned Paul and dragged him outside the city, thinking he was dead. 20, “But after the disciples had gathered around him, he got up and went back into the city” (NIV). How would you react if you learnt that what God wanted to accomplish in you was in jeopardy? The life you held dear is threatened by challenges of life. You make an tempt to progress yet there is such a great opposition from people and situations, words stoning you, frustrations and fears stoning you. Paul was preaching GOOD NEWS, that did not exempt him from being stoned then left for dead. There was something God had invested and deposited in Paul that was not ready to be terminated yet. It looked like he was going down the drain, his life in danger, few friends and more enemies, not wanted in cities but his mission was not complete. When we understand what God has called us to do, come high water and hell, saints might be shaken but none of it will terminate the work God has started. Jesus was almost stoned to death, nothing could happen to Him because His time had not come. Paul’s time had not come, therefore the stones couldn’t kill him. When they dragged him out of the city supposing he was dead, he picked himself up and went back into the city. “I AM STILL HERE“, you or anyone will not destroy what God has started, He finishes what He has started, Philippians 1:6, “being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ”. Are you glad you are still here regardless of what you went through in your childhood and the last few painful episodes in your life?

Psalm 118:17, “I shall not die, but live, And declare the works of the LORD”, This scripture is for those like Paul who know the calling of God and the destiny in their lives. What you know about God in you will cause you to look the situation and be encouraged with these words, “I shall not die, but live”, my faith in God will not die, my hope, my vision, my desire, my calling, my spirit, my destiny, will not die. I may be bruised and limp but the fact that I can still see these things at distance will keep me alive. You live because God started something in you. Pick yourself up where the enemy has left you to die, wipe off the dust, go back to the city and keep doing what the Lord called you to do, remember, “YOU ARE STILL HERE”, That is your testimony, “God is still on the throne. 2Timothy 1:12, “For this reason I also suffer these things; nevertheless I am not ashamed, for I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that He is able to keep what I have committed to Him until that Day”. Why still live?, “TO DECLARE THE WORKS OF THE LORD“. I live because He lives in me therefore I am still here until He is done with me. Deuteronomy 30:19, “I call heaven and earth as witnesses today against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing; therefore choose life, that both you and your descendants may live;”, Blessings Evans

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

