The Lord Is My Everything, Part 2of2, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Psalm 27:1-14, “Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord”

In part 1, we looked at David taking time to personalize what the Lord is to him. He is not reducing or trying to make God in his own way but he understands who the Lord is and how the Lord is his help therefore he calls him “MY …”; He is My strength, My joy, My Hope, My healer, My deliverer, My confidence, My peace, My guide, My light, My redeemer. Whatever you know for sure you can’t do and we know we can do nothing, the Lord becomes to us what we are not.

Psalm 27:5, “For in the time of trouble He shall hide me in His pavilion; In the secret place of His tabernacle He shall hide me; He shall set me high upon a rock”. Where do you first run to when you are in trouble? do you run first to your buddies or to the Lord. When you fall, who do you call on? Psalm 18:3, “I will call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised: so shall I be saved from my enemies”, Romans 10:13, “For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved”. Because we call on the name of the Lord, the strong tower, we surrender ourselves to his hiding place, pavilion (dwelling place). For where He is stationed can no enemy enter. Not only will He hide us, He will also shelter us in His tabernacle, in other words, He will not just protect us. He will also provide for us in His presence. We understand that whatever is from the Lord comes already blessed. When He has blessed us, He shall set us high upon the a rock where we can display the goodness of the Lord. Everything the Lord is doing in our lives is to bring Him glory. We therefore give Him the glory by praising Him and letting people know of what He has done for us that someone somewhere can believe in Him too for a blessing. If being set upon the rock is being set on Him for He is the Rock of Ages and what a blessing to know that He has raised us up above my enemies.

The Lord is my everything, He is My mother and My father, my earthly parents are just demonstrating who He is to me. Psalm 27:10, “When my father and mother forsake me, The Lord will take care of me“. Glad is he who knows that even the people who are supposed to be there can leave but having the Lord take care of you is more than enough. The bible says that He the Father to the fatherless, He is a friend who sticks closer than a brother and what the Psalmist is telling us here is that even if the people that are very close may choose to leave, His care for us will not diminish for His care is not conditioned to who is there and who is not.

Psalm 27:11, “Teach me You way, O Lord and lead me in a smooth path, because of my enemies”. There is a great difference between knowing the ways of the Lord and knowing the acts of the Lord. The bible says that unto the children of Israel, God showed them His acts but unto Moses, He showed him His ways. When you only know the acts of the Lord, you will only rejoice when things are done and if not, chances are, you will complain. Knowing the ways of God changes the way you think and how you perceive God, in that even if He does not do it, does not mean He is not able. He could have delayed it, He is trying to teach us something, He is building a people with a destiny and so we rejoice in every step because we know His ways. Psalm 86:11, “Teach me your ways O Lord and I will walk in Your truth, unite my heart to fear you name”, Psalm 37:5, “Commit your ways to the Lord, trust also in Him, and He shall bring it to pass”, Psalm 25:4, “Show me Your ways, Oh Lord, teach me thy paths, lead me in Your truth and teach”. Would you rather know the acts of the Lord or know His ways?

Psalm 27:13, “I would have lost heart, unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the LORD In the land of the living” How many times I have felt like giving up, giving in and calling it a quit. In KJV version says, “I would have fainted”. Friends, Christ is our heart beat, many times we fainted because we stopped believing. David says that I was tempted to stop believing but that caused me to almost faint and loose heart. It’s was getting too much and the journey was long and tiring but I could not stop believing in Him to bring me to a place where I could see His goodness in the land of the living. “The race is not for the swift neither is the battle for the strong but for those who endure till the end”, rest if you must but do not faint, don’t stop trusting God where you are, keep fighting the good fight of a soldier enduring shame as the elect of Christ. Believe God to bring you to a place where you can see His goodness in the land of the living.

Psalm 27:14, “Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord”. We will wait for the Lord and I don’t mean sit down and keep checking our watch to see if He is coming but doing what the waiter and the waitresses do, they wait on people who come to the restaurant. Their waiting is actually working, serving, reaching out, making sure that someone has what they need and so is with us, we have to believe God for greater things, but we have to reach God by doing something. When He calls me, I will answer for I will be somewhere working for the Lord. Your blessing and my blessings many times comes as a result of service so I wait on the Lord for HE IS MY EVERYTHING. Have blessed day people. Ev

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

