In Able Hands, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


2Corinthians 12:9, “And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.”

I have shared from this scripture before but for the sake of those who are working under pressure, feeling tired, spent and exhausted like me, we need to hear this again. I find it easy at times to quote a scripture and then find it hard to apply it in a situation. Then there are those times you look at a scripture and you quote it and feel good to quote it but forget to look at the previous verses that led to it.

Paul in this case was going through something he could not describe, he referred to it as thorn in the flesh sent to him by a messenger of Satan. Three times he pleaded (pressed in, cried out, called on God) to take it away. Of course this was humble him, but I would like to take some principles to be an encouragement to us. I don’t know whether where you are right now you’ve felt something you couldn’t describe, no one understood your situation, you received an assignment that did not make sense, in short you are distressed. You’ve prayed that the Lord takes it away but He did not, you even wondered if Jesus cares about what you are going through. You desire for it to be moved or changed or you move. He knows what you need and that is why you are in ABLE HANDS. Paul did not need to run away from what he was going through because that is what God was going to use to put him together. That is what He was using to get more praise and worship out of him. God’s joy was about to be manifested in what he had to deal with. Escaping it would have meant missing the opportunity to experience something extraordinary.

2Coritnthians 12:9, “And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Two things he was to receive, GRACE and STRENGTH. Grace is unmerited favor, a favor rendered by the one who need not to do so. A state of being protected and sanctified by the favor of God. His grace is sufficient, more than enough. I would say God is gracing you and I with His presence. So you and I need His presence more than we need answers. He is more than enough and with Him present, we can do anything. Moses said, “If your presence is not going with us, don’t let us leave this place (paraphrased). Thank God for gracing us with His presence, He goes before us by day as a cloud of wind and by night as a pillar of fire. Then His strength is made PERFECT in weakness. He is present and He is the strength because He is perfect. The Lord is my strength (not giving me strength) Psalms 46:1, “God is our refuge and STRENGTH a very PRESENT help in trouble”. To sum up 2Corinthians 12:9, When He graces us with His presence He is more than enough, He makes Himself strong in us in our weakness. This gave Paul a chance not to view what he was going through as discouraging experience but an encouraging one, vs. 9&10, “Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10, “Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong”. See your situation and be encouraged for you are in able hands. blessings Evans

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

