We All Qualify, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


1Corinthians 2:1, “When I came to you, brothers, I did not come with eloquence or superior wisdom as I proclaimed to you the testimony about God 2 For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. 3I came to you in weakness and fear, and with much trembling” (NIV).

I believe one of the things that cripple human beings is the battle with fear to which I am no stranger of. I have battled fear all my life. Fear of doing wrong, rejection, fear of ending up in hell, fear of deceiving. Of course some of the fear are healthy and then most of the fear I deal with are not. Think about it, what is one of the things God dealt with in the bible, “FEAR”, He said “FEAR NOT”. Fear is a distressing emotion aroused by impending danger, evil, pain, etc. God told Hagar the mother of Ishmael in Genesis 21:17 to fear not, Isaiah 41:10 tells us to fear not, so was Joshua told to fear not, Jesus spoke to the disciples in occasions to fear not and it goes on.

Then comes Paul who is responsible for most of the New Testament whom you would think was bold all his life comes and tells us in 1Corinthians 2:1, “When I came to you, brothers, I did not come with eloquence or superior wisdom as I proclaimed to you the testimony about God. 2 For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified”. Paul like any other believer was no stranger to fear but something inside of him continued to battle fear and that is the love, passion and zeal he had for the Lord to do His will. He says he did not come with eloquence or superior wisdom though he was a very smart guy, well learned. What I have learnt that when fear comes, it drives away things in you that could even help you stand. In as much as he was well learned, anytime he stood to speak to people about the things of God, fear would come upon him and God had to strengthen Him and give him words to speak. Matthew 10:19, “But when they deliver you up, do not worry about how or what you should speak. For it will be given to you in that hour what you should speak”.

Vs. 3 “I came to you in weakness and fear, and with much trembling” (NIV). We can see that Paul came in weakness, fear and much trembling which if you look at it carefully are the qualifications of a born again Christians God uses daily. Do you qualify? I do, I have much weakness, fear and trembling every time I step out to do the work of God. We can see that the work of the Lord is not left for those who are bold (of course God uses the bold), He has lowered the qualifications that we would all qualify. If there is one guy who is bold in doing the work of God is Pastor Phil. I am amazed and challenged by his love, zeal and boldness to preach and witness to strangers on the streets. That boldness rubs on me to deal with my weakness, fear and much trembling that I too may be used of God on the streets as a true and faithful witness.

2Timothy 1:7,” For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” Because we have fear, God has given us three things to battle and conquer fear, “POWER”, “LOVE” and “SOUND MIND”. In talking about “POWER“, Paul could only preach under God’s power, that always battled his fear, the reason he preached, taught and wrote to many churches boldly. On the other hand, “LOVE” compelled him to swallow his fears and preach the gospel with boldness because he did not want anyone going to hell, 1John 4:18, “There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment. But he who fears has not been made perfect in love”. And by “SOUND MIND” did he haveclear conscious to understand that the captain of fear is the devil and some of the fears he plants are JUST IMAGINATIONS to stop us from obeying God. In other words, fear tries to exalt itself against the knowledge of God, 2Corinthians 10:5, “Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ; “(KJV). I believe we can fight scared because we qualify and we have what it takes to fight fear. I fight it every day and I am gaining victory day by day what about you? Blessings Ev

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

