Waiting Patiently For The Best, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Psalm 40:1, “I waited patiently for the LORD; he turned to me and heard my cry” (NIV)

Walking with the Lord is never easy. If you see someone faithfully walking with the Lord it’s not because it’s easier for them than others, it’s because they are determined to walk with the Lord faithfully, totally relying on Him for strength. And it’s in the process of walking with the Lord you realize that His ways are not your ways and His thoughts are not your thoughts, that as high as the heavens is from the earth so are His thoughts and His ways (Paraphrased). This teaches you not to think and deal with God the way you and I would with others. Learning His ways and not our ways eliminates frustrations. A thousand years is like a minute to God therefore when you pray and God says wait a minute, it may mean, wait for a while.

To wait on God is to stop dictating God when and how He should do things and let Him be God in your situation. Last time I checked, He wasn’t looking for your opinion and ideas to get things done. His word says Psalm 46:10, “Be still and know that I am God“. If you are going to walk with the Lord, you have to get into His program and not yours.

Psalm 40:1, “I waited patiently for the LORD; he turned to me and heard my cry”. (NIV) . David understood a secret that he applied in his life, the secret of patiently waiting for the Lord. Let’s break it down, “I waited“, this deals with time, His timing and not mine. Ecclesiastes 3:11, “He has made everything beautiful in its time“, Learn God’s time. He has divinely implanted sense of a purpose working through the ages which nothing under the sun but God alone can satisfy. Faith and patience go hand in hand, faith is awaiting God’s timing without doubting His love and ability. “…Patiently” deals with the process. You are not ready to progress with God without patience as part of God’s process in your life. That’ is what patience is all about. “…For the Lord“, the reason behind the waiting. David learnt that everything he had desired of the Lord depended on waiting patiently for the Lord to come through for him and because he mastered it, God turned and heard his cry. Abraham needed to go through the same process, in the middle he felt impatient and tried to answer his own prayer by bringing Ishmael. He felt he was running out of time in relation to how he looked at himself. You know the rest of the story. Think of bringing an Ishmael, God is thinking of bringing an Isaac, the true blessing He has promised his servant.

I see how praying and waiting patiently for the Lord to move in different areas has yielded fruits. There are some areas when I look back it felt like I missed my Isaac (true blessing). Nothing was coming forth and thought of settling for Ishmael (man made promise) was very strong. For example, I patiently waited for 8 years to meet and marry the woman God had for me. It wasn’t the easiest thing to do, at times I felt like I had missed God’s will for my life in the area of marriage, at times I felt like I wasn’t doing something right. Days of discouragements were there but I held on to His word waiting for His timing without doubting His love and ability. In His time He blessed me with Judy (we’ve been married 7 years). I am thankful to God I waited for His true blessing. I know I don’t deserve the best but I always desired the best, God knows how to give the best. Those who are desiring to meet someone and settle down, don’t give up patiently waiting on God. Don’t doubt His love and ability, and most definitely, don’t settle for an Ishmael when God has designed an Isaac for you. One is a true blessing from the Lord, the other is a false blessing made by man. What God gives, He blesses. A final thought, It’s not that the Lord is preparing the blessing for you, the blessing is ready, you are the one who needs preparation for the blessing, that is the difference and that requires patiently waiting on the Lord. Blessings Ev

4 thoughts on “Waiting Patiently For The Best, Evans Olang

    my box at God’s feet | THE WORM IN MY APPLE said:
    08/22/2013 at 10:43 PM

    […] Waiting Patiently For The Best, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    […] Waiting Patiently For The Best, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    […] Waiting Patiently For The Best, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    wait for it | Artsy Wanderer said:
    08/30/2013 at 5:44 AM

    […] Waiting Patiently For The Best, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

