Your Presence Is Significant, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Genesis 39:1-22, “So it was, from the time that he had made him overseer of his house and all that he had, that the LORD blessed the Egyptian’s house for Joseph’s sake; and the blessing of the LORD was on all that he had in the house and in the field”

As I shared the other day, we all love compliments, someone speaking good things about us before people. There is always a word that tends to erase every good thing someone has spoken. The word is “BUT”. As long as good things are spoken without the “BUT”, we tend to be ok with it but the moment it comes in the middle, then you become troubled by it. Your concentration on it erases all the good that has been said.

In the workforce, there are people who are hard workers, they do the best they can, and they are good at what they do. They give a 110% but no one ever notices, no words of appreciation, no pat on the back in fact most people concentrate on their mistakes and what has not been done more than anything else. With this they feel their presence is not significant. You have to understand that your presence is a present (gift) to your job. It may not be your dream job, you have to remember that God has called you there as a gift to that company, job, position, department to be faithful in it. Who knows, it could be a training ground to mature your character, leadership qualities, integrity, foundation, and be a blessing to others. God sent you there for a reason. Until you see it in a new way, you will be depressed instead of being in deep rest,. I remember a job I had before, I did not like it, I wished I could move away from it. I knew God had placed me there for a reason. I therefore chose to take the opportunity to serve and be the best at it, I did ministry there and it was a blessing. With time, the Lord moved. Your continuous complaints and whining will mess up every victory God had channeled your way. We forget many times that the world crowns success, God crowns faithfulness.

Look at Joseph, his dream job was to be a ruler, people bowing before him including his family. As a young lad, that is the thought that consumed his mind. In our times maybe his dream was to be a CEO of a company. The thought of it and speaking of it almost cost him his life. He finally finds himself in a house of an officer serving as a servant (slave). Not his dream job but he is there, no one to talk well of him but he is there. He should be complaining and murmuring but he becomes faithful in his job. I believe that instead of asking “why”, He was thanking God for the opportunity to serve in any capacity. As I shared recently, you ought to be your best encourager. If they don’t say nice things about you, speak nice things to yourself. Applaud yourself for job well done. Look yourself in the mirror and say, “He loves me in spite of and He will use me to be a blessing in my job”. “It may not be where I want to be but if I can be faithful with the little, He will make me ruler over much”. You don’t have to be liked and applauded to be successful, you got to know who you are, where you are going and who is in control to be one. That is what Joseph knew. A slave with a dream to someday be great yet beginning that greatness by laying a foundation of faithfulness.” A slave with a dream but yet looking at his current situation as a stepping stone. If God promised him a dream, temporary setbacks does not mean denial. The bible says, “Do not despise the days of humble beginnings” paraphrased. Faithfulness with time, resources, in responsibilities is what you and I need. Going an extra mile beyond the required duty. Extra mile is what I will call excellence mile, the mile that distinguishes you from others.

Genesis 39:5, “So it was, from the time that he had made him overseer of his house and all that he had, that the LORD blessed the Egyptian’s house for Joseph’s sake; and the blessing of the LORD was on all that he had in the house and in the field”. Can you see your job being blessed because your presence is significant? I believe my department, my boss, my colleagues; my surrounding is blessed because of my presence. I know that I am making an impact, it may be small but it’s significant. Joseph’s boss was blessed because of Joseph. If you are faithful over little, God will make you ruler over much. If you don’t like what you do, I’m not saying be happy and relax, I’m saying be faithful in it as you trust God for greater things. I would stop for a moment and say, “what a privilege to be entrusted with a position like this”, Matthew 5:16, “Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven”. Your presence is Significant, therefore trust God and be faithful. Blessings Evans

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

