Shield Of Defense Is Present, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Psalm 3:3, “For thou O Lord are a shield for me, the glory and the lifter of my head”

After talking to different people and looking at my life, I see that we are all fighting battles. This is not an occasional thing but a daily thing. It may be fought at different degrees and levels but the fact remains we are battling. Often times I sit and wonder whether what I am battling will ever come to an end. At times I feel like there is victory and then right after getting victory in one battle, another surfaces and the battle continues. If we could avoid battles, believe me, I would be the first one to avoid them yet we are not called to avoid but face them. I believe you can survive battles without offensive weapons as long as you have defensive weapons. If you just have the offensive weapons, I guarantee you will be exposed to more dangers because offensive will tackle mostly what you see while defensive tackles all corners seen and unseen.

Joshua fought battle after battle as God gave him victory. There was no indication that there would be no battles to fight, all that God told him in Joshua 1:5 was, “No man shall be able to stand before you all the days of your life; as I was with Moses, so I will be with you. I will not leave you nor forsake you” The Lord would strength him to battle while He was a shield for him the rest of his life. An assurance “no man shall be able to stand before you” is like a sneak preview of the end of a movie you are about to watch about your life. Moses had been given the rod of God (shepherd which symbolized power) to deliver the Israelites but he said “If Your (that is God) presence is not going with us, do not let us go from here” I can see a man who had offensive weapon but would rather have defensive than offensive. How many times do we want the battle to stop when it’s too much, instead of the Lord stopping it, He becomes the shield to protect us from all the fiery darts. Shields are not offensive weapons but defensive weapons. At times when you get weary from fighting, all you need is a shield. Let the enemy continue to throw his spears, swords, punches whatever the case until he gets weary. On the other hand, you will be resting under the shield getting your strength back to face the enemy. From the movie “Rocky”, Rocky Balboa had something going for him. He would shield part of his body his opponent was punching. His opponent would use all the force and energy to punch his shield, and yes it did shake him a little but wasn’t doing a greater damage. When the opponent was beginning to lose strength, that is when Rocky would retaliate. In the process of shielding, he was gaining strength and strategy. Psalm 62:2, “He only is my rock and my salvation; He is my defense; I shall not be greatly moved”

Ephesians 6 talks about putting on the whole armor of God. We have guarding your waist with truth, breastplate of righteousness, shoding your feet with the preparation for the gospel of peace then in verse 16, “ABOVE ALL taking the SHIELD OF FAITH with which you will be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked one” Assurance that God is present to protect us is our shield of faith. Having the confidence and trust in no one but God to save us. Nowadays people’s first question when looking for a car is how safe is it? Yes they value the power, the fancy stuff but they would rather know the safety gargets that can shield them from serious accidents and save their lives. What do you prefer, more power or more safety? I want to wake up each morning knowing the Lord is my shield, He encourages me to know that He would be with me. When I run from the battle ground with my face looking down because of the disappointments, He will lift my head up with an assurance that He is present. If you’ve been craving for just the offensive weapons, be assured of how much you need the defensive above the offensive. Isn’t it amazing how the Lord would give us offensive weapons but not defensive for He is that to us already? “If Your presence will not help me start my day, Lord I’m positive I won’t make it”. Blessings Evans

3 thoughts on “Shield Of Defense Is Present, Evans Olang

    […] Shield Of Defense Is Present, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    […] Shield Of Defense Is Present, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    […] Shield Of Defense Is Present, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

