I Know Because I Know Him, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Psalm 37:4, “Delight yourself also in the LORD, And He shall give you the desires of your heart”

I received an email some time back with this question, “How to find God’s will for your life”. This is one of those topics I have no direct answer to. Walking with the Lord has led me to know what His will is for my life. I still don’t know what His will is in certain areas but I can see the direction He is leading me to. I have shared from this topic before but for the sake of the new people and those who are struggling, may this word ignite something in your spirit.

I believe that for someone to know the will of God they must first know God, I don’t mean know “about God” but actually “know God”. When you see things that He responds to, what brings glory to His name, things He disapproves etc. then you know what to do. All these are revealed in His word. His word becomes the manual book. Romans 10:17, “Faith comes by hearing and by hearing the word of God“. This is the beginning to understanding the will of God (Seek ye first) before knowing the will of God for your life (and all these other things shall be added unto you). His word teaches us what God is like so us to respond according to His word. When you know God, you begin to learn your position in His kingdom; you begin to look for opportunities to operate in your position. Knowing God brings a massive change as in all about yourself is sifted and He fills you with more of Him and less of you.

Proverbs 10:32, “The lips of the righteous knows what is acceptable”. This vs. talks about the “righteous”, those who Christ lives in their lives. Those who have been made new creatures know what pleases Christ because of what they have learnt from Him. These are the ones with new appetites stirred up by Christ living inside. Anything that comes at this time is no longer for selfish desires but seeking opportunities to make Him shine.

Psalm 37:4 “Delight yourself also in the LORD…”. The word “DELIGHT” means to take great pleasure. This as an opportunity to please the Lord with my life style because of what I have learnt from Him. In the book of Genesis, Cain and Abel brought sacrifices before God. Cain brought what he had done by himself and God did not receive it, Abel on the other hand brought that which the Lord required, a blood sacrifice. He was bringing to God what would please Him and he was offering it to God by faith. Remember again, “Faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God“. Abel was delighting himself in the Lord, God had showed them what pleased Him. How did I know what God required? I learnt it from His word and I began to seek opportunities to glorify Him in all that I was doing. How did I know His will? Through promptings also confirmed by other people, through gifts given I never had, by thought He dropped in my mind in light of His word. What do all these have in common? They are to bring GLORY TO HIS NAME. This has been my way of delighting in the Lord. God is faithful because when you recognize that it’s not about you, He raises you to greater levels, gives you blessings you were never qualified for simply because you delight in Him.

“…And He shall give you the desires of your heart“, this scripture can be misapplied. Anyone can have ugly, selfish or wrong desires of their heart but here is the key, when you delight yourself in the Lord, He will show you things He has stored for you in His vault. You begin to have an appetite for them, those becomes the desires of your heart and God gives them to you as His will for your life. There are many who will never progress because they are waiting to hear God speak audibly. At times God will open a door and you will need to walk through it. At times He will give you a thought and expect you to begin to develop on that thought as He works with you, it all begins with delighting in the Lord. I have learnt that the more I sought opportunities to glorify Him in what I do, the more He blessed me. That is how I have progressed to be a prayer warrior, a teacher of the word, a minister through devotions, a preacher, witnessing on the streets, encouraging others and even counseling etc., I know because I know Him and more are to come, it’s all about glorifying Him . Blessings Ev

2 thoughts on “I Know Because I Know Him, Evans Olang

    […] I Know Because I Know Him, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    […] I Know Because I Know Him, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

