A Covenant Made With My Eyes, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Job 31:1, “I made a covenant with my eyes, not to look lustfully at a girl” NIV

One thing that scares me daily is the thought that I have the ability to sin and sin is constantly knocking on my door. I usually joke about two things I’m allergic to, sin and pain. There are no two things I can think of that have destroyed many men of God like sexual sin and greed. This continues to plague men daily in a sexually charged world and a world of greed. In the age of Internet, TV, movies, magazines, beaches, dressings etc. all around has created a challenge for men and some women in generral, something we call “every man’s battle”. I think that the level of temptations faced by David, Solomon, Samson and others in the past cannot be compared to what we face today and yet the standard of God’s purity for man has not changed and never will. It’s easy to try and poke holes in God’s word to find something to justify sin, however we need to always remember, God’s word is truth, He has no revised edition to fit our time. The word was set to address everything in any age. God’s still holds us to the highest standard revealed in the Holy Scriptures.

Your true Christianity is not what you display before people; your true Christianity is who you are when no one is around. It’s where your walk is defined and this is a challenge to men in general. The lusts of the flesh, and the love of the world, are the two fatal rocks on which multitudes split; against these Job protests he was always careful to stand upon his guard. While Job was facing his trying moments, he reflected on his life and one thing that he mentions is that he made a covenant with his eyes not to look lustfully at a girl (woman). When God allowed Satan to take away everyone and everything from Job, one person Satan wouldn’t touch was his wife. I believe for this reason, the presence of his wife would remind him of the covenant he made to God and to her and that would help him be pure before God and stand through it all. Job made a covenant to be pure before God and honor his wife by keeping his eyes on her and her alone regardless of what came his way. Of course opportunities may have presented themselves to sway him but he kept on remembering his covenant.

How often does opportunities present themselves to you? You may not be looking for trouble but trouble finds you, what is your response? Does your conscious remind you of the covenant you made to your wife before God? To honor God by being faithful to her in thoughts, in words and in deeds? As my pastor would say, men of God must “Avoid the second look”, the first look my catch you off guard, the second look is a choice, a responsibility you are accountable for. How much commitment you show to your spouse shows how much you value purity. The bible says, “2Timothy 2:22, “Flee also youthful lusts; but pursue righteousness, faith, love, peace with those who call on the Lord out of a pure heart”. It doesn’t say try and fight it or deal with it, no, you and I must run for our lives. While running from it, we will run towards righteousness, faith, love, peace.

I constantly pray that God would be more present in my life and give me power to overcome the lust of flesh, the lust of the eyes and the pride of life. That my eyes may be fixed on Him with my wife as a supporting cast. If I pull my eyes from her or if I work an appetite outside my marriage, I will be living in sin and the fear of God will be absent. Read what Job says in looking to God to search his heart in this area, vs. 9-10 “9 If my heart has been enticed by a woman, or if I have lurked at my neighbor’s door, 10 then may my wife grind another man’s grain, and may other men sleep with her”. What a scary statement but a statement that would hold him accountable to his actions if he did. The thought of someone else lusting after your wife while you lust after other people’s wives (married or not) should scare you to death. Those who are single who may be dating or looking around, be careful on how you treat those women. That could be someone’s wife if not yours (if you don’t get married to her). Those of you who look at stuff on the Internet, on magazines remember those are someone’s daughter and someone’s wife. There are men who say, “you can look at the menu and not order from it”, the Lord has something to say to such men Matthew 5:27-28, “You have heard that it was said to those of old, ‘You shall not commit adultery.’ 28 But I say to you that whoever looks at a woman to lust for her has already committed adultery with her in his heart”. In the OT, they would have looked at committing adultery as the actual act, we Christians under grace in the NT the standard is made clear, the thought is sinful. Proverbs 6:32, “Whoever commits adultery (lust) with a woman lacks understanding; He who does so destroys his own soul” Matthew Henry, “Those that would keep their hearts pure must guard their eyes, which are both the outlets and inlets of uncleanness

To make a covenant is to make an agreement. Would you and I make a covenant daily not to look with lust (both married and single men and struggling women”? To flee lust? To love God and our wives with a pure heart is hard, we cannot do it by ourselves that is why we need to pray to God for grace and strength to overcome the lust of the eyes, the lust of the flesh and the pride of life, Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”. If you’ve stumbled, repent of it and stand for the Lord, blessings Ev

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

