Proverbs Thirty One Woman, Part 1of3, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Proverbs 31:10-30, “Charm is deceitful and beauty is passing, But a woman who fears the LORD, she shall be praised.”

These three part series is an encouragement to godly women and learning experience to godly men about godly women. I have learnt a lot watching my wife, the women in my ministry, my mom, some of the ladies I discipled back in the days. My learning enables me to treat and pray for them effectively. The intercessory prayer ministry my wife and I were involved with, 95% were ladies. I have respect for ladies may be one of the reasons is how my salvation came about. My special mom prayed me into the Kingdom, of course dad always prayed for me but when mom stepped it to join forces with him, the Lord saved me. I was discipled by a lady. It’s not easy nowadays see men treat ladies the way they should be treated. I also don’t understand why many women get attracted to men who mistreat them.

Several times I have come across women who referred to themselves as Proverbs 31 women, this led me to read and study the chapter for myself. It says, vs. “10 who can find a virtuous woman? for her price is far above rubbies”. Let’s start by defining the word “virtuous”, this is having or characterized by moral virtue (goodness) and righteousness. From experience, I have come to learn that when a woman is of good character, however bad the husband might be, she has a way of neutralizing the bad side of her husband, a good example is that of Abigail, Naabal’s wife. But when a woman is bad she destroys the house, for example Jezebel, Ahab’s wife. This makes me believe that depending on the character of the woman, she will either make or break her home.

With that said let’s look at our first point, A virtuous woman is a woman of kindness, Proverbs 31:20, “She extends her hand to the poor, Yes, she reaches out her hands to the needy”, a great example is of the Shunammite woman in 2Kings 4:8, which reads “Now it happened one day that Elisha went to Shunem, where there was a great woman (virtuous), and she persuaded him to eat some food”. Note the way the bible calls her “a great woman”. She was no ordinary woman, her kindness is highlighted, going far and beyond, her hospitality made her special. Her kindness is continuously highlighted when she lovingly consulted her husband about going above and beyond what she had already done, 2Kings 4:10, “Please, let us make a small upper room on the wall…so it will be, whenever he comes to us, he can turn in there”. Because he passed by many times, she asked her husband if she could set a room and food, whenever he was around, he would need food to strengthen him and there she was doing what was right.

Even in the midst of something missing in her life, a child, it did not change who she was. Galatians 6:9,” And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart”. A virtuous woman will see a need and put other people’s needs ahead of hers. She does not do what is left, she does what is right. She will not do it to be seen but because it is the right thing to do. To continue, blessings Ev

4 thoughts on “Proverbs Thirty One Woman, Part 1of3, Evans Olang

    […] Proverbs Thirty One Woman, Part 1of3, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    […] Proverbs Thirty One Woman, Part 1of3, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    […] Proverbs Thirty One Woman, Part 1of3, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    […] Proverbs Thirty One Woman, Part 1of3, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

