I Am Not Where I Was, Part 2of2, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Matthew 9:20-22, “And suddenly, a woman who had a flow of blood for twelve years came from behind and touched the hem of His garment”

As we looked at the woman with the issue of blood in Part 1, we could glean some principles from her story and apply it to our lives as we start a New Year.

1. Be a Jesus seeker: This woman in the midst of her situation became a Jesus seeker. She made it upon herself to find Jesus. Mathew 9:20, “And suddenly, a woman who had a flow of blood for twelve years came from behind and touched the hem of His garment”. She decided to make a quick move before the opportunity passed her by. It was either now or never. If you and I are going to make it this year, we must be like this woman who sought Jesus to be made whole. It is one thing to desire, it is another thing to do something about it. Deuteronomy 4:29, “But from there you will seek the LORD your God, and you will find Him if you seek Him with all your heart and with all your soul”. Do not wait for people to seek the Lord for you, be initiative, wait on God. This woman had no time to seek special help from people for her condition, she knew who to call on, the reason she moved swiftly. You seek the Lord and you will find Him. She did not care to see Him or talk to Him all she cared was a taste of what He had, the healing virtue. May we crave for a glimpse of what He has as the beginning and continue for a greater measure of His presence.

2. Be your own best encourager:. vs. 21, “For she said within herself, If I may but touch the hem of His garment, I shall be made whole“. If you have tried everything and failed, it takes a greater faith to attempt the impossible. Jesus had spoken to many, touched them and healed them, for this woman, her faith was just to touch what He is wearing, enough to make her whole. This faith did not just come about, she had to do something about it, and she became her best encourager. Faith is boosted when encouragement comes in. It is good to have people encourage you, however, it is better to build your own foundation of encouragement. “I will make it despite what the enemy brings my way; I am determined not to remain in the same place forever. I may fall, stumble, or even cry but I will still make it because I know that He has something I do not have. If I can just but touch Him, I will never be the same again”.

3. Your yesterday cannot not shape your tomorrow: Her yesterday could not help her get where she was going. She had every reason to sit and cry over the past and how it could have turned out. At times, you have to dry your tears over those who frustrated you and/or things that stood on the way and realize the Lord is not done with you yet. He is doing a new thing. Paul encourages himself by saying in Philippians 3:13… but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead“. The fact you and I are still here shows there are things that are destined to be deposited in the womb of our spirits that cannot be negated by yesterdays’ issues. Yes there are a lot that had passed her by and blessings that seemed seriously delayed by her condition yet in it she understood that “Behold Christ makes all things new”. Your tomorrow can be vibrant if your past is buried from haunting you.

4. Have hope and faith to make it: Regardless of who she was, she still had hope and faith to make it. Anyone can believe God when things are going the right way or you can see how things will turn out. It takes a greater faith to believe God in the midst of hopelessness. Faith in God can move mighty mountains, as EM Bound said, “Faith gives birth to prayer, and grows stronger, strikes deeper, rises higher, in the struggles and wrestling of mighty petitioning”. That is what she had at the very hour of her hopelessness. She did not just believe and sit there, she put her faith to work by seeking to touch the hem of His garment. James 2:26, “…for faith without works is dead also

We have an awesome opportunity to grow in the Lord this year. Refuse therefore to be where you were yesterday, move and let everyone know if you must, saying something like this, “I am not where I was, do not look for me on my yesterday’s issues and failures. I moved on, God has dealt with my issues and now can make me pregnant with His call and destiny. He is growing me in every aspect of my life“. Blessings Ev

2 thoughts on “I Am Not Where I Was, Part 2of2, Evans Olang

    […] I Am Not Where I Was, Part 2of2, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    […] I Am Not Where I Was, Part 2of2, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

