The God Of The Word, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Psalm 119:105, “Thy word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path”

It is good to know the word, and more so to know the God of the word, He is the word Himself. The Gospel of John 1 takes us back to the origin to understand how the word of God is Jesus. John 1:1-5, “1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 He was in the beginning with God. 3 All things were made through Him, and without Him nothing was made that was made. 4 In Him was life, and the life was the light of men. 5 And the light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not comprehend it”. John tells us that Jesus existed from the beginning, not as a created being but God, contrary to what some sects believe.

This word is a lamp unto our feet and a light unto our path. We read the word with understanding with the help of the Holy Spirit. Jesus said, John 14:6, “I am the way, the truth and the life, no man comes to the Father but by me“, already Jesus has stated clearly that He is the way and knowing that He is the word Himself, He is the One who will guide us through the paths of life by His truth.

Remember how God came through for the Israelites when they faced hard times on their journey to the promise land, God went before them by day as a cloud of wind and by night as a pillar of fire. We know how fire provides light and also fire consumes anything in its path. It is by this I believe God meant that He will not just shine their way but also clear their path. This I believe is the reason for a lamp unto their feet and a light unto their path.

The more we know the word meaning the God of the word, the more we can be stirred up in the right direction. Psalm 37:23, “The good steps of a righteous man are ordered of the Lord, He delights in his ways and whichever way he turns, he will prosper”. I do struggle to get the word inside of me, meditating on it and even memorizing it, however I know that the more I do what I struggle with, the more I can see my way clearly because getting hold of the word means getting hold of the One who knows the way. People who do not know and are unsure of the way tend to go in circles, wasting precious time. They get lost again and again, finding themselves in wrong places. They are not progressing and growing because they are stuck in the same place. When we are confident of who is leading the way, though we may go through the valleys of the shadow of death, we will not fear evil for He knows the way and we are following Him.

How much of the word is a lamp unto our feet and a light unto our path? Are we reading the word without fail, let me go a step forward, are we STUDYING the word or are we waiting for Sunday morning for the word to be preached? Are we memorizing the word and applying to our lives? Are we checking the words we hear from preaching, teachings and devotions to prove if they are preached, written and/or are applied correctly? Even in my weakness I desire to know the word and the God of the word. Psalm 86:11 “Teach me your ways oh Lord and I will walk in your truth, unite my heart to fear our name”, Psalm 25:4&5, “show me your ways O Lord, teach me your paths. Lead me in your truth and teach me, For you are the God of my salvation; on You I wait all the day, Psalm 119:89, “Forever O Lord thy word is settled in heaven. Find the word, blessings Ev

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

