Falling Back On Dead Things, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


1Samuel 28:6-7, “6 And when Saul inquired of the Lord, the Lord did not answer him, either by dreams or by Urim or by the prophets . 7, “Then Saul said to his servants, “Find me a woman who is a medium, that I may go to her and inquire of her.””

Saul started his journey well, he was chosen by God to be king in Israel, and if you read his story, he had a tragic end. Anyone can start a marathon; those who finish it are the ones’ who matter. Anyone can begin the journey of faith; only those who make it to the end receive a crown of life. So it’s not how you start that defines you, it’s how you finish and by what means you finish at the finish line that counts.

Saul having started well with God on his side, he would have had a glorious journey, inquiring and trusting in the Lord day by day, obeying His word that is contrary to his later life. Having deprived himself of every legitimate means of spiritual input as a result of his own disobedience and rebellion. 1Samuel 15:10-11, “10 Now the word of the LORD came to Samuel, saying, 11 “I greatly regret that I have set up Saul as king, for he has turned back from following Me, and has not performed My commandments.” And it grieved Samuel, and he cried out to the LORD all night.” Samuel met him and told him, vs. “23 For rebellion is as the sin of witchcraft, And stubbornness is as iniquity and idolatry. Because you have rejected the word of the LORD, He also has rejected you from being king.”

At a later time, Samuel died, all his life Saul would not heed to Samuel’s counsel. At one time Saul had a battle before him; he therefore sought the will of God concerning the battle. This was to determine if they would subdue or be subdued, 1Samuel 28:6, “And when Saul inquired of the Lord, the Lord did not answer him, either by dreams or by Urim or by the prophets”. He went before to inquire of the Lord, and the Lord did not respond to him. The reason for not responding was due to his disobedience and lack of repentance. Instead of continuing to linger before the Lord in repentance from a broken heart, he quits seeking the Lord and goes back to dead things; witchcraft he got rid of when they anointed him king. Vs. 7, “Then Saul said to his servants, “Find me a woman who is a medium, that I may go to her and inquire of her.” Walking in foolishness again by seeking out the very resource (a medium) he had previously removed from the land.

This is what happens when you disconnect yourself from the Lord because of sin, lack of desire to seek Him and walk in His commandments. Instead of crying to God in repentance to be restored, you find that it’s easy to seek other things to bring about temporary relief and not deal with the root of the problem. You know the Lord will point out the truth and you cover it up by saying, “I sought the Lord, He did not answer me”. Saul was going back to what he had removed out of his life and kingdom.  Is this not what most of us do when faced with trials and tribulations? We go back to revisit the world we were rescued from. Instead of trusting the Lord to bless you financially, you are back to playing lotto hoping for a lucky win. Instead of praying to God for a breakthrough, you would rather depend on other means, lying, manipulations etc. to get your way out. Isaiah writes, “And when they say to you, “Seek those who are mediums and wizards, who whisper and mutter,” should not a people seek their God? Should they seek the dead on behalf of the living?”, Isaiah 8:19, Seeking God is the medicine for our dilemma.

Saul had many opportunities to make things right with God but he never did, the bible says, 1Chronicles 10:13, “So Saul died for his unfaithfulness which he had committed against the LORD, because he did not keep the word of the LORD, and also because he consulted a medium for guidance”.

My prayer daily is, Lord forgive me of my sins I am aware of and the ones I’m not. I pray like David in Psalm 139:23-24, “23 Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me, and know my anxieties; 24 And see if there is any wicked way in me, And lead me in the way everlasting”. I don’t want unconfessed sins to hinder my prayers from reaching God. I can either be like Saul who knowing his sin chose not to repent and trust God, or be like David when confronted with his sin repented of it and God forgave him and gave him life. I can confess and be made whole so as to continue my fellowship with the Lord or be like Saul and fall back on dead things. What sin are you not willing to repent of, and would you rather go back to what you should have been delivered from? Get rid of dead things, fall in the arms of God. Psalm 18:2, “The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; My God, my strength, in whom I will trust; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold”. The Lord is alive, why go back to dead things? Blessings, Ev

6 thoughts on “Falling Back On Dead Things, Evans Olang

    […] Falling Back On Dead Things, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    […] Falling Back On Dead Things, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    […] Falling Back On Dead Things, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    God’s Tests | YOU DECIDE said:
    01/16/2013 at 5:32 AM

    […] Falling Back On Dead Things, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    […] Falling Back On Dead Things, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    […] Falling Back On Dead Things, Evans Olang (magnifyhisword.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

