We Give Ourselves To Prayer, Part 2of4, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Luke 22:39-45, “41 And He was withdrawn from them about a stone’s throw, and He knelt down and prayed, 42 saying, “Father, if it is Your will, take this cup away from Me; nevertheless not My will, but Yours, be done.” 43 Then an angel appeared to Him from heaven, strengthening Him. 44 And being in agony, He prayed more earnestly. Then His sweat became like great drops of blood falling down to the ground”

“For bodily exercise profits a little…”, 1Timothy 4:8, BUT “…The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much”, James 5:16. One profits a little, the other avails much, I choose the one that avails much however hard it is.

The garden of Gethsemane was no ordinary experience, it was very intense. The disciples had seen Jesus in His glory when the Holy Spirit descended on Him taking the form of a dove; and the Father spoke of His Son. Again on the mountain of transfiguration where Christ was transfigured, there appeared with Him Moses and Elijah, and so was a voice of the Father from heaven. The three disciples Peter, James and John were very much present and very much awake. In this crucial time in the garden, heaven seamed silent, the Father did not appear to speak, you do not sense the Holy Spirit’s presence, all hell is breaking loose as He submits, and the disciples who should stand with Him are weak to stand and pray in the hour of prayer.

Matthew 26:37-38, “37 And He took with Him Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, and He began to be sorrowful and deeply distressed. 38 Then He said to them, “My soul is exceedingly sorrowful, even to death. Stay here and watch with Me.” He shares with them of His troubled heart as plainly as He could, of course more for their sake. What would a good friend have done in a situation like this? stand with the one who needs it the most I would assume. I believe Christ shared with them that they too would gain a burden and stand with Him. I have asked myself when I started studying this passage whether I have been brought to the garden of Gethsemane to experience the heart of our Savior Lord Jesus in our time. That if I was to lay my head on His chest and feel His heartbeat so to speak, what would be His heart for our generation? I would want the same to trouble my heart too. And I would stand and say, “Lord burden me with what burdens You, bring me out of my normal regular praying to travailing, anguishing, agonizing effective praying”. To the point I lost sleep or even lost appetite for food because my heart was so troubled and exceedingly sorrowful, even unto death for my friends, family members, workmates who are not saved. Also for young people living in rebellion against God, parents, authorities. Those who blaspheme the Lord’s name all day long. Have a troubled heart for the sick held captive, increasing divorces, immorality, false teachers etc.

This generation is responsible for this generation, and we cannot fall asleep and expect God to move without stirring our hearts to labor with Him in this crucial hour. It begins by being present in the garden (in the prayer closet). Ezekiel 22:30, “So I sought for a man among them who would make a wall, and stand in the gap before Me on behalf of the land, that I should not destroy it; but I found no one”. “Lord help us shake off our drowsiness and be fit to pray effectively”. We have been awake and vibrant on the mountain of transfiguration, let us move to the garden of Gethsemane where He has called us to share with us what is in His heart and labor with Him. Are we willing to move from our normal prayers to intense prayers because we know we are responsible for this generation? blessings Ev

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

