Let There Be Light, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Exodus 10:21-23, “…But all the children of Israel had light in their dwellings

We have an awesome opportunity to affect our surrounding because we are a product of grace through faith.Ephesian 2:2&8, tells us “It’s by grace you have been saved through faith, and not of yourselves; it’s the gift of God, not of works, lest anyone should boast”. it’s not what I did that commends me, it is by Christ’s finished work on the cross. There is nothing good in me expect Christ the light of the world.

Galatians 2:20, “I am crucified with Christ, nevertheless I live but not I but Christ lives inside of me; the life that I now live in the flesh, I live by faith”. It’s no longer I that live but Christ in me and through me. I have nothing of my own to boast of. I am no better than any unbelievers. In Exodus, we see what had been happening in the land of Egypt, the children of Israel were afflicted yet we see God instead of coming to protect them, He comes through Moses to rescue them and not because the Israelites were better than the Egyptians, but because they were His people. I pray that we will never forget that we are blessed, protected, cared for not because we are better but because we are His people favored by Him. God gives grace to His followers not based on merit but His loving Kindness.

We see darkness released in ninth plague in the land of Egypt. If you read from the time when the plagues started in Egypt, the children of Israel were also in the land only that, down in Goshen where they lived, God had put a hedge of protection around them that none of the plagues affected them. When the ninth plague was executed, it affected the land for three days. This was no ordinary darkness, this was thick darkens both in the day and at night. For three days the Egyptians were paralyzed. The bible gives us a glimpse of how it was in Goshen, “the children of Israel had light in their dwellings”. Weird things happen in the darkness, but God allows us to be in the light. Fear comes in the dark, wrong direction can be a result of being in darkness, many bad things happen in darkness but when we are all in the light, we see clearly. We are living in a world full of darkness that’s why we hear about rapes, murder, kidnapping, immorality, divorce and many crazy things happening but thank God for Jesus, the Light of the world in us. He says in John 9:5, “As long as I am in the world, I am the light of the world”,.

2Corinthians 6:17, “Therefore come out from among them and be separate, says the Lord”, The children of Israel were to live a separate life, we see the light showing separation. Again living this separate life was not to make them any better than the Egyptians but to allow the Egyptians to see that they were different, God made a difference in their lives. We need to be separate too and allow the light of Christ to shine in our little Goshen that many may see the Christ in us. This goes with our talk, what we listen to, what we watch, what and who we associate ourselves with, places we go to and the rest. We need to examine our ways and see if we are allowing things to dim our light. Let’s be like the five wise virgins who had their light on all the time that when the groom came, they were found ready. Your little Goshen this morning could be your office, cube, apartment, your car, you name it. Your cube could be a light house when your surrounding is clouded with darkness. This light of mine I’m going to let it shine. I will put it where it can be seen not to impress but for Christ to Light of the world around me full of darkness. Blessings Ev.

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

