Tools 1: Rod Of God In Your Hand, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Exodus 4:1-2, “1 Then Moses answered and said, “But suppose they will not believe me or listen to my voice; suppose they say, ‘The LORD has not appeared to you.’” 2 So the LORD said to him, “What is that in your hand?” He said, “A rod.”

If there was a person who had enough to work with even when it did not seem like anything it was Moses. I think many times we have enough excuses for not doing what God requires us to do. We hope for bigger things before we can start accomplishing God’s work while neglecting to utilize what God has granted us because it appears small in our eyes. We forget that God has given us enough to get us started. The Lord will always refer to what he has placed in our hands.

In response to God’s call to deliver the Israelites from the land of Egypt, Moses concludes that no one will listen, believe him or take him seriously. Then we see God not giving him an army or even latest weapons, only a rod of a shepherd in his hands he used to take care of Jethro’s flocks in the desert. A once upon a time ordinary rod used to lead sheep, God was going to use is it while in Moses hands to demonstrate His power and free the Israelites. It was now referred to as the rod of God, Exodus 4:2.

You and I can dismiss doing God’s work because the rod we have in our hands appear insignificant but God wants to use what’s in your hand. What you have access to, what is at your fingertips. When was the last time you prayed, “Lord you have blessed me beyond measure, what do you require of me as a service to you with the rod in my hands?” One of my prayers for young people is that they waste not their youth doing nothing for the Lord.

When I got saved, I immediately knew there was a rod in my hands, God’s word. I Did not know how well to use it to reach others but used I it anyway. God was faithful, His word does not return void. A while back I spoke to my childhood best friend who I had not been in contact with for 14 years, couldn’t find him anywhere. I remember witnessing to him while I was a baby Christian the best I knew how and God later saved him. He is now serving in ministry, working with the youths and evangelizing. I thank God I did not wait for bigger things before I could start doing God’s work, reaching others. You start with little, the Lord gives increase.

It was the prince of preachers Charles Spurgeon who said, “brethren, do something, do something, do something”. He knew God had placed in the brethren’s hands a rod to free the lost from Egypt. We are used mightily in our weak state, when we yield to Him for His glory. Anyone who is saved has a rod in his or her hand to do something with it. Yes we battle fear but as someone used the word “FEAR” as an acronym, False Evidence Appearing Real, we got to love God more to overcome fear. 1John 4:18, “There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, ..”. will you let fear paralyze you not to do something?, read this, “Have you no wish for others to be saved? Then you’re not saved yourself, be sure of that!” Charles Spurgeon.

A rod in your hand is God’s rod to be used for His glory. Be creative, write a gospel message, email to family and friends, record a gospel presentation, post it on your face book, website; order gospel tracts, leave them in bathrooms, kitchens, give them to cashiers as gifts, send them out with your bills to be paid, leave them in shopping carts, public seats.

God used the rod in Moses hands, will you let Him use yours? I did a gospel video presentation that was used this summer on a missions trip in Africa at a free medical clinic, I thought a video could reach more people than I could physically, over 3000 people watched it and was well received. I did one as a tribute to my late cousin which was watched by over 800 people on face book. I knew video was a rod in my hands God could use. We’ve ministered to more people in the world by email devotions, this was another rod in my hands. We take the gospel on the streets, that’s another rod. None of these have a wow factor behind them but God is faithful to use what we give to Him.

You are welcome to check out the video on my face book page and you are welcome to share it with your friends and loved ones. This could be a rod in your hands among others to reach them. Once again, do something, do something, do something. Blessings Ev

 

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

