The Power Is In Your Hands, by Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


James 5:16,”Confess to one another therefore your faults (your slips, your false steps, your offenses, your sins) and pray [also] for one another, that you may be healed and restored [to a spiritual tone of mind and heart]. The earnest (heartfelt, continued) prayer of a righteous man makes tremendous power available [dynamic in its working]” (Amplified)

One of the things that hinder our prayers from reaching our heavenly Father is un forgiveness. Either we’ve not confessed our sins to the Father that He may forgive us or we have not forgiven someone else who has wronged us or both. It’s not that the prayers reach the Father and then He doesn’t act on it, No, it’s because un forgiveness blocks the prayers from reaching the Father.

It’s possible to be offended, Jesus said in Luke 17:1, “It is impossible that no offenses should come” (NKV)”, we are human, we are prone to mistakes and offenses. With that in mind, I hope that I will not offend or be offended but know in the back of my mind it is possible and may happen. The question is, how do I deal with it when it comes. In my own life, I have placed my confidence in no man because I know men can fail. It’s now easier for me to forgive, after all, God in Christ Jesus has forgiven me for wronging Him over and over again. Why should I have something against my brother? Why would I want to hinder my prayers from reaching the Father, because of un-forgiveness? My flesh would want to give them a dose of their own medicine, revenge, make them feel the way I have felt, get even. The only thing un-forgiveness does for me is rob me of freedom I need. When offended and cannot forgive, the un-forgiveness steals such a great strength out of you and leaves you powerless. This means the un-forgiveness has controlling power over you.

James says, confess it, deal with your un-forgiveness then take it a step further pray for the one you have forgiven. Now this is hard but I believe the key release to your blessings depends on whether you can release and pray for the one you are releasing. Didn’t Jesus forgive us and sits right now at the right hand of God the Father praying for us? This is the process of healing, the more you pray for them, the more the power of un forgiveness releases you. The earnest (heartfelt, continued) prayer of a righteous man makes tremendous power available [dynamic in its working]”. If un-forgiveness has stolen your power, how else can you pray with power? Joseph was put to a test where he needed to forgive his bothers. It was not easy if you read Genesis but he did, the power of forgiveness was in his hand. He took the offense and looked at it differently saying, “though you meant it for evil, God turned something good out of it” (paraphrased). Romans 8:28, “And we know that ALL (not some) things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose”. In the light of His word, I can get illuminations in understanding that everything that happens in my life, good or bad works for my good because I love Him. If I’m offended, it works for my good only if I look and deal with it the way the Lord would have me. It can push me forward or backwards depending on my attitude. If I forgive, how easy my simple prayer to God can be powerful and avail much. The message today is simple, the power of forgiveness in in your hands, let it lock or release you according to the way you use it. Blessings Ev

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

