Road Less Traveled, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Psalm 25, vs. 4, “Show me your ways, O Lord; Teach me Your paths vs. 5, Lead me in Your truth and teach me”

image

Solving math equation was a challenge to me in my school years and so were others. To try and pass, many times we had RIGHT ANSWERS but no method to lead to those right answers, and we could not explain to the teacher how we exactly arrived at those answers because we mostly copied them from other smart kids or from the back of the book. Most of the math questions required several steps some taking at least a half a page to solve one question step by step. The valuable lesson I ever learnt was that the teacher was not so much impressed with the right answers, he was interested in how I got there. He needed me to show him step by step and gave points to each step that was correct. I found I got more points for the steps than for the answers.

Road less traveled are roads that require steps and often times we crave for answers and hope there are no steps to the process. It’s like saying, “I want to graduate without studying or sitting for an exam”, “I want to have an answer to a math problem without steps to lead me there”. The psalmist in this text begins with a plea for deliverance in vs. 1, and deliverance calls for an answers but look at how he goes about it. He is not seeking for an end result to which he will get to at some point, he is seeking for a process, a very rare thing people ask. He is not seeking to be “brought out” but “brought through“. Vs. 4, says “Show me your ways, O Lord; Teach me Your paths vs. 5, Lead me in your truth and teach me”. Three important things he asks for “SHOW ME”, “TEACH ME”, “LEAD ME”, looking at these closely, I can see that there are no shortcuts. All these three calls for complete submission to the Lord. “Show me” says to the Lord, “I’m lost and blind, open my eyes and show me, not my ways but Your ways”. “Show me what you have planned and purposed for my life, show me what you require of me”. “Teach me” calls for the Lord to instruct, but you can only instruct someone you have their full corporation (their ears and their heart) with great eagerness to learn. It’s like saying, “I want to learn everything I need to learn in Your path because there must be a good reason you let me be distressed”. “Lead me” is the Lord having to hold my hands as He guides me in His truth while bringing me to what He purposed when He allowed the distress to come my way.

When you compare Moses’ life and the Israelites, God gave the Israelites answers but to Moses He showed him His way (process). Moses learnt a lot in the process. There is something about the process that shapes and molds you in the “Show me”, “Teach me” and “Lead me”. It brings about fulfillment and growth in ways you could never imagine or think. Romans 5:3-5, “3 and not only that, but we also glory in tribulations, knowing tribulations produces perseverance  4, and perseverance, character; and character, hope. 5 Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out into our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us”. Paul had it rough but he counted it joy to have been a student in God’s class “Road less traveled”. These are the same things the psalmist would have not wanted to miss in the Lord’s class when faced with the impossible. He wanted things that build perseverance (patience), establishes character (experience), increases faith (hope), teaches humility and surrender (self-denial) and testimony.

It was like the psalmist, David was saying, “sign me up for this class “Road less traveled”. It will not be fun but it will be vital. It will be nice to have answers but I will benefit more by taking the class. It’s a shaping class. He wasn’t signing up in good times, he was signing up in distressing times, he says in Psalm 86:11, “Teach me Your way, O Lord; I will walk in Your truth; Unite my heart to fear Your name”, his desire, “His truth” and “fear of God”. How best can you learn these without taking the class? Many have been trying to avoid the class by crying “give me an answer” and yes sometimes you have been given an answer but you have missed the dynamics that comes about in taking the class where you are totally committed because you are craving for more. I believe God is MORE present in the process than He is in the answer, take a look at some men in the bible and you will see it. The process is the “road less traveled” and that is why we find that even in reaching the lost, we want to give them answers and avoid the process. If they cannot withstand the process, the answer will not be of help. The road less traveled is narrow, very few find it.

What is your prayer when you are in distress “BRING ME OUT?” or “BRING ME THROUGH?”, stay on this road. Blessings Ev

One thought on “Road Less Traveled, Evans Olang

    mgsunshine said:
    04/01/2015 at 12:02 PM

    This message is full of truth and wisdom.

    Liked by 1 person

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

