Name Above Every Name, Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Philippians 2:9-11, “9Therefore God also has highly exalted Him and given Him the name which is above every name, 10 that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of those in heaven, and of those on earth, and of those under the earth, 11 and that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father”

It’s been known that the name Mohammed (also spelled in different ways) is the most given name than any other name in the world and not John though popular. I also think that the name Jesus is the most HATED name in America if not in the world. Think about it, which name is frequently used as a cuss word or used to express disgust?, Jesus Christ.Which name would people most likely eliminate from anything? Once again it’s Jesus. Campus Crusade for Christ recently changed their name to eliminate crusade and Christ because they are offensive. There are many who are offended by this name; then there are those people who accommodate it; then there are people who pretend to love this name; and then there are us, Christians who love the name Jesus. We don’t love the name because it sounds good, we love it because of who He is and the power in His name. It’s more than just a name as we will see in the scriptures.

A while back I came across “American Idol give back”. On this episode, they were raising money to support poor children in Africa and other parts of the world. The contestants stood to sing a well-known song “Shout to the Lord” and I was like, wow, they are going to sing about Jesus on national TV with over 30million people watching. To my surprise the song which begins with “My JESUS, My SAVIOR, LORD there is NONE like You“, this line was ELIMINATED COMPLETELY and they began from “my shepherd, my comfort“. The name “Jesus” is in the song, the song is about Him and for Him. He is the whole reason for the song yet they left His name out it. How many of the events have pastors been told to pray in the name of God (not sure which one) but not in the name of Jesus our God?

Oh I love His name, it sounds sweet on my lips, Proverbs 18:10, “the name of the Lord is a strong tower; the righteous run to it and they are safe”, 2Samuel 22:4, “I will call upon the (name of the) LORD, who is worthy to be praised; So shall I be saved from my enemies”. Acts 4:12, “Nor is there salvation in any other, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved.” I remember about 10 years ago, on a snowy night, coming from school and down the hill my car lost control got off the road and headed towards the trees by the road side. The name I could think of was none other than the name of Jesus who could save me. I shouted out His highly exalted name, the name above every name, the name JESUS. The car missed two trees head on and landed in between them with no scratch or injuries. Calling on that name saved me that day. And how many times have I called on that name and I believe you too have done the same. I hate to take that name casually or use it loosely, I pray in that name. People get saved through that name. We get healed through that name. Demons tremble at the mention of that name. If you are used to using “OMG” in excitement, in shock or whatever the case, I urge you to quit it. His name is not to be used lightly, “The name of the Lord shall not be used in vain”. If you are around people who misuse His name and you say nothing, I would be curious to know if you would be quiet if someone was using your wife’s or husband or child’s name as a punch line for a joke or as a cuss word. There is something about that name.

God the Father gave His faithful Son who was obedient even unto the death of the cross by first exalting Him which means He highly elevated His rank and then gave Him “THE” not “A” name above EVERY name, vs.10 “that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of those in heaven, and of those on earth, and of those under the earth, 11 and that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father”. God the Father did not take the name of His Son Jesus lightly neither can I. God the Father has promised His Son that every knee will bow to Him, either in repentance and faith or on judgment day. One way or another, every knee will bow and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord. “No other name but the name of Jesus, No other name but the name of the Lord, He is worthy of GLORY and worthy of HONOR and worthy of POWER and of PRAISE”. Oh that people fear the name of the Lord, cherish and Revere his name. Blessings Ev

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

