Are You a Garbage Picker? Pastor Phil Sessa

Posted on Updated on


1 Samuel 28:3 ,”Now Samuel was dead, and all Israel had mourned for him and buried him in his own town of Ramah. Saul had expelled the mediums and spiritists from the land”

In this passage Prophet Samuel, who represented God’s voice, was dead. Saul had no communication with God because of his disobedience which will be seen shortly. It was similar to a soldier losing radio contact with their commanding officer at headquarters during a war. Everyone mourned over Samuel’s death as he was a great man of God, having served the Lord so faithfully since he was a young boy. I would hope to make such an impact for my God should He tarry that people would mourn over my death because I faithfully and unashamedly carried the truth of God’s Word to all.

Look what Saul had done, he put away (cleansed) the mediums, and spiritists (witches) out of the land. The Message Bible says “Saul had long since cleansed out all those who held séances with the dead” Good job Saul. But Saul was quickly about to face a battle against the Philistines that when “Saul saw the Philistine army, he was afraid; terror filled his heart” This king was terrified, what did he do, he sought the King of Kings, God.

Verse 5 shows the result which reads, “He inquired of the LORD, but the LORD did not answer him by dreams or Urim or prophets” God didn’t answer Saul, why? Verse 17-19 tells of the reason, and the bottom line again was his disobedience. God had ripped the kingdom off Saul’s hand and had given it to David. How did Saul find this out, through consulting Samuel? What? I thought Samuel was dead. Oh yes, but Saul contacted the dead through one who contacted the dead regularly, named the Witch of Endor.

The very thing that Saul did away with, expelling the mediums and spiritists from the land, was the very thing he ran to when the battle came. He turned to the Devil’s servant and the Devil’s ways for the answer. Does that sound familiar to you? I feel like there has been times that I’ve thrown something away spiritually, only to go “digging through the garbage” to find it again. It could be pride, bitterness, lust, greed, envy, Unforgiveness, etc. The bottom line was it was in the garbage because it belonged there! Spiritually it is like Proverbs 26:11 states, “As a dog returns to its vomit, so a fool repeats his folly” I have at times unfortunately turned to ungodly things as if that was going to help me in a battle. It only made things worse, and ungodly things can NEVER produce godly results and victory. If God turned a deaf ear to me because of sin, I need to repent and let the Holy Spirit break me, humble me, and mold me into putty in the hands of God. Whether I am a prince or a pauper I need God’s favor and communication with my Father. Many times we can throw out the paraphernalia of sin such as ungodly books, magazines, CD’s, notes, pictures, etc., but it needs to be removed from the place that it is hidden most, in our minds and hearts. Romans 12:2, speaks about being “transformed by the renewing of your mind,” and that is what we need”

Application: Lord, help me not be a garbage picker or a dog that returns to its vomit. When I face life’s battles let me turn to You and Your Word which is truth as ammunition to fight against the enemy. Keep my life humble before you and may I sense at any time when my sweet communion with You is melting away. Keep me humble for You resist the proud but give grace to the humble. Amen. Blessings Pastor Phil

 

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

