My Redeemer Lives, By Evans Olang

Posted on Updated on


Job 19:25, “For I know that my Redeemer lives; And He shall stand at the last on the earth”

We need to be aware of is that as we walk with God we are reminded that He owes us nothing. I know of people who walk and talk as though God owes them something, it’s like they gave God something to keep, or they did God a favor and now God owes them and should pay them back. God owes you nothing, as a matter of fact, you owe it all to Him. The fact that you breathe is an indication that you owe Him. If that is not enough many walk around accusing God for doing evil things in their lives, well may I remind you that God does not tempt any one and does not bring any calamity in one’s life, He may permit but He will not author it for God is not evil and He cannot tempt anyone with evil.

In Job chapter 1 talks about a conversation God had with Satan, the bible says that the sons of God came to present themselves before the Lord and Satan came along with them. First point to note, the devil is not always in hell as people think, he is called the prince of the air, he also reigns in the heavenlies and he has access to the throne of God and that is what happened. So when God asked him where he came from, he said that he had been roaming back and forth on earth. He is the accuser of the brethren for he came to the throne to accuse Job. God talked highly of Job, Satan said that the reason Job was loyal to God was because of the blessings God had bestowed upon him and the covering. Satan says, “take away all that he has and he will curse you” and God gives him permission to touch him and everything that he has but not kill him. God may allow up to a certain level of attack to come our way but He will not allow more than we can handle 1Corinthians 10:13, There has no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above all that you are able; but with temptation also make a way of escape, that you may be able to bear. With temptation, with that which you are dealing with, God will make a way of escape, He will use that which we go through to work for our good.

In Job 19 we see how one of Job’s friends who should be an encouragement to him during his tough time began attacking him. No servants to command to do things, the wife to stand by him has already asked him to curse God and die. He has boils all over his body, he stinks, he is broken. He has lost all his possessions, respect, children I mean all that he could need in life was all gone. He does not feel the presence of the Lord. Ever been in a situation where everybody you thought would stand with you were nowhere to be found? and all the help was gone? This was Job’s experience. Next time you think you have it bad, try getting hold of Job and he will show you how your situation is nothing compared to his Job complained, murmured, desired that he would not have been born, he wished he could die, but still after every scene and after every episode, he encourages himself Job 13:15, “Though He slay me, yet I will maintain mine own ways before him”, Job 23:10, “He knows the way that I take, after He has tried me, I will come forth as gold”. When no one could encourage him, he encouraged himself during his tough times. You are your best encourager when it comes to hard times. Build your own foundation of encouragements. Let someone come and help you build the walls but be the one to lay a foundation.

After talking about what they had done to him in Job 19 nearly at the end of the chapter he encourages himself in vs. 25&26 “For I know that my Redeemer lives; And He shall stand at the last on the earth. And after my skin is destroyed, this I know, that in my flesh I shall see God”. After going through everything, all you have is God. The word Redeemer comes from the word redeem which means to recover ownership of by paying a specified sum, it also means to set free, rescue or ransom. Jesus Christ redeemed us from the law of sin and death by shading His blood on the cross. We were once worthless yet bought with the highest price, the blood. He paid more than we cost and so even with Job, he knew that his Redeemer (rescuer lived) after going through everything the Redeemer would stand on earth in him because 1John 4:4, “Ye are of God ye little children for you have overcome them, for greater is He that lives (Redeemer) inside of you than he that lives in the world”. And after my skin is destroyed, this I know, that in my flesh I shall see God, 1Peter 5:10, “But the God of all grace, who hath called us unto His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after you have suffered a while, make you perfect, establish you, strengthen you, settle you“. All this can only happen because our Redeemer lives, He… Psalm 103:5, “Who redeems my life from destruction”. Can you imagine someone paying a price for you not to be destroyed, not to fail, not to perish? I thank God for He is my Redeemer, I haven’t earned it and I will never but I’m glad that He has Redeemed me. When no one could buy me back and free me, the same God whom I thought forgot about me is the same God who came and rescued me. He owed me nothing yet He sought me and bought me with His redeeming blood. Job knew that it was a matter of time before he would come out of his situation, God is able. Blessings Ev

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

