In The Valley Of Decision, Evans Olang

Hebrews 6:9-19, “15 And so, after he had patiently endured, he obtained the promise”

I have learnt that patience is not taught in a classroom, it is taught and mastered in the sea of life. A dangerous prayer one can pray, “God teach me patience”, it is a prayer for those who know the end result but do not know the process yet willing to stick it out. What happens when you are dealing with something that requires patience? for me many times I try to find alternatives. If driving on the road and there is traffic, I find it easy to try another road. The problem I found when avoiding what I should have dealt with is that I got lost. Some things looked familiar as I made that choice only to find I was going further and further away from my destination. In the long run “I wish I knew” runs through my head. When God is teaching us patience, it always comes as an open book test. To make it interesting, if you fail the test, you can take it over and over again. What does this tell us, God is also very patient with His children. Can you imagine a teacher giving an open book test, all the answers are there but the student keeps failing that test? After a while his or her patience will run out, but not with God. He was patient with the Israelites who complained and murmured. He was patient with Gideon who kept on asking for a sign. He was patient with David who was weak when it came to women. He was very patient with Peter who kept on messing things up. He who invented patience knows how to be patient. Point to make, faith goes with patience.

The writer of Hebrews recalls how Abraham had hope and patience to inherit the promise God made. He is encouraging us to do what some people like Abraham did before the promise was fulfilled, Hebrews 6:11&12, “And we desire that each one of you show the same diligence to the full assurance of hope until the end, that you do not become sluggish, but imitate those who through faith and patience inherit the promises”. Some of these people are the open books who have to teach us how to endure through faith till the promise comes. Their promises are the result of their faith and patience and we look at it and say if they did it, we too can do it by God’s grace. Everyone has a dream, promises, desires, some of them have come to pass but there are some that have not. In the valley of decision calls for action, “should I stay on this road I already know of, and wait patiently to receive the promise or should I take a back road hoping to lead me there?” Abraham took the road God had set for him. There were a lot of traffic and he may have many times thought of taking the back roads as the traffic was not moving but faith kept him on that road. Hebrews 10:35&36, “Cast not therefore your confidence with has great recompense of reward. For you are in need of patience that after you have done the will of God, you might receive the promise”. The key to fulfilling the promise is sticking with the will of God in a situation till the end. Your confidence and my mine are in Christ our great reward because when we have confidence in someone that they can and will do it, regardless of when they do it, we will still patiently wait for them to do it. Patience is a must to every wise man. I don’t want it but I need it, it teaches me to be in the will of God gearing me to the promise. In the end when you look back you begin to see why patience was a must in your journey to the promise.

In the valley of decision though hard, I will stick to the road I started on based on His will. I will be tempted to take the back roads, however I will learn to stay on the main road. He is patient therefore He will help me be patient. If I fail, I can take the test again, I will utilize the open book in the valley of decision. After we have done the will of God… Blessings Evans

4 thoughts on “In The Valley Of Decision, Evans Olang”

If You Have Been Blessed By This Post, Please Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.